Right speech, action and livelihood constitute the training in virtue or morality. For a practising lay Buddhist it consists of maintaining the five Buddhist precepts, which are to refrain from:

  1. Deliberately killing any living being;
  2. Stealing;
  3. Sexual misconduct, in particular adultery;
  4. Lying;
  5. Taking alcohol and taking non-medicinal drugs which lead to a weakening of mindfulness and moral judgement.
share this with a friend