Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exercise for the body

Dear Ajahn,

My question relates to how much we should look after our bodies in terms of exercise etc from a buddhist point view. As some background, I work as an exercise physiologist and so it is my job to promote being active and healthy. The issue I am struggling with at the moment is how far do you think we should listen to our bodies in terms of stiffness / tightness / pain / lethargy and how far to go in attending to that need through exercise / physical activity rather than through meta meditation etc?

many thanks and warm wishes,

Michael

Hi Michael!

Meditation is an exercise for the mind. But it lowers blood pressure, heart rate, and breathing rate, so it has good side effects for the body as well. It can help lessen certain tensions and even diseases--that has been proven in many researches. It also helps us get more in tune with the body. However, I would never say it replaces exercise. If people have physical problems, exercise is important. I'd say a combination of both meditation and exercise is best. How to balance meditation and exercise will of course depend on the person and their specific problems.

There is an interesting documentary about this. It's on the mind-body connection: www.theconnection.tv. It talks about how the health in the mind influences the health of the body.

Warm wishes to you too,

Sunyo

Comment

Venerable Sunyo, may I ask how you and other monks at your monastery stay physically fit? Thanks.

Comment