Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

kamma and dependent origination: seeing things as they are versus divergence of views

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• kamma and dependent origination: seeing things as they are versus divergence of views

Dear Ajahn Brahmali,

First of all I would like to express my appreciation for your talks and classes which have considerably improved my understanding of Buddhism. I have discovered Theravada Buddhism only a few months ago through the writings of Ajahn Brahm. This has been an amazing event in my life and I am in the process of changing many aspects of it in accordance with the Buddha’s teachings. At the same time, my enquiring mind often raises questions, probably partly due to my job conditioning (I am a scientist so I am used to questioning everything). I think (I hope) that I do this in a truth-finding spirit rather than in a fault-finding one. Many times I find the answer to these questions myself, and indeed this helps me improve my understanding of Buddhism. There are some things however for which I have not been able to find a wholly satisfactory answer, so I thought that I might write to ask you. First of all I would like to briefly sketch my understanding of the basic teachings, so that you can tell me if these premises are correct, and then, starting from these premises, ask a couple of questions on things that puzzle me a bit.